Rotarian Hans Stirnemann worked as a surgeon in ICRC hospitals in Thailand, Pakistan, and Sudan. He then recognized the misery of the numerous landmine victims and their difficult fates. Intensive talks were held with incoming governor Walter Limacher. At that time, anti-personnel mines (APM) and their devastating consequences were not yet an issue in Western countries. Both become convinced that Rotary should get involved in humanitarian aid for the victims.

1995 Foundation of mine-ex with partner ICRC in the district 1990

The two find a competent, professional, and reliable partner in the ICRC. The concept and goals of mine-ex are developed:

  • Financing prostheses, the physiotherapy, vocational training and reintegration for landmine victims
  • Financing the training of local prosthesis manufacturers

In consultation with the ICRC, aid is concentrated on the severely affected country of Cambodia.

Funds are raised through numerous events within and outside the Rotary Clubs, through donations from private (also non-Rotary) sources, through Christmas card campaigns, concerts, sponsored runs and much more. mine-ex also receives considerable support from charitable foundations.

Since 1997, annual information trips to Cambodia have been made by members of the working group (later the foundation board; in each case at their own expense).


Name Rotary Club Funktion
Alfio Albasini RC Bellizona Member SR
Verena Maria Amersbach RC eClub 2000 Member SR
Mauro Arrigoni - Representative ICRC
Christophe Chollet RC Fribourg Member SR
René-Marc Blaser RC Lausanne-Léman Member SR
Jörg Bucher RC Entlebuch Member SR
Isidor Bürgi RC Schwyz Member SR
Christoph Berchtold RC Zug-Zugersee Member SR
Ursula Gervasi RC eClub 2000 Member SR and Secretariat
Armin Jossi RC Frauenfeld Member SR
Urs Mathis RC Emmental Member SR
Tobias Moser RC Zug-Kolin Vice President
Reto Stump RC Illnau-Effretikon President
Daniel Sturm RC August-Raurica Finance
Karin Uffer Schmid RC St.Gallen Member SR
Gilles Vago RC Aubonne Member SR
Michael Weiser RAC Liechtenstein Member SR
Hans-Peter Wyss RC Burgdorf Member SR